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Digital Marketing Lecture 4 (Metrics (Click through rate (CTR) (The…
Digital Marketing Lecture 4
Display Advertising
Methosd of Buying AND Selling Digital Ads
RTB 相较于 Direct marketing price lower
Real-Time Bidding (RTB) Action Types
3 types
Prefereed deal
Single Buyer enters into an agreement with a publisher to purchase inventory with specific deal terms
Single advertisers are invited
I don't know who you are
Private auction
Only invite people can put the bid
Great for quality control
Pros & Cons
Advantages
You can get invite to get this option
Premium inventory
First Look
Disadvantatges
Quasi-Automated
Open Auction
Publishers put unsold inventory on real-time bidding marketplace
Pros & Cons
Advantages
Cheaper
Complete automation
Max. Reach
Data-driven targeting
High accessible
Disavantages
No publisher relationship
Lowest priority
Unpredictable inventory volume
从上到下
Price priority preidictability: High to Low
Targeting efficiency accisibility: Low to High
Metrics
Cost per click (CPC)
$0.50 CPC
50 clicks $0.50 x 50 = $25 overall cost
Cost per mile/ Cost per thousand impressions (CPM)
𝐶𝑃𝑀 = 𝐶𝑃𝐼 𝑥 1000
=
𝑂𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑙𝑙 𝐶𝑜𝑠/ 𝑁𝑜 𝑜𝑓 𝐼𝑚𝑝𝑟𝑒𝑠𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 x 1000
Example
1
$2 is the CPM – but what’s the overall cost?
– Ad shown 10,000 times = impressions
– Overall cost = (CPM * Number of Impressions) / 1000
– $20 Overall cost
= 2 x 10000 / 1000= = $20
Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
CPA
– CPA = $10
– Advertiser pays website $10 every time ad leads to a purchase
– The ad led to 6 acquisitions
过程
𝐶𝑃𝐴 = 𝑂𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑙𝑙 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 / 𝑁𝑜 𝑜𝑓 𝐴𝑐𝑞𝑢𝑖𝑠𝑖𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛
Overall cost = CPA
No of Acquisitions
= 10
6=$60
Click through rate (CTR)
The proportion of visitors to a webpage who click on a link to a particular site
– 50 out of 10,000 site visitors (impressions) click on an ad
– 50 / 10,000 = 0.005 multiply with 100 to get percentage:
– 0.5%
Might not always be accurate or useful for the advertiser → Clickbait etc…
Converting CPC to eCPM
𝑒𝐶𝑃𝑀 = 𝐶𝑃𝐶 𝑥 𝐶𝑇𝑅 𝑥 1000
How to use display advertising
Ad Targeting
Demograpic
Psychographics (Interests, Values, Lifestyles)
Geographic
Behavioural
Tracking the behaviour, and push you to do the behaviour agian
types
Cut-and- pate Content Sharing 這是什麼?
Retailer Cooperative Database
怎麼區別Search Retargeting
Buy shampoo on Amazon but you don't buy, it will pop up agian
Owner Targeting
Ssearch Retargeting
Look up the jewerly, but you don't buy, it will pop up again?
Customer's Journey + Targeting
那個圖
Ad Design
3 PARTs
Attract Attention
Start your slimdown
Invite Action
Sace 75 $ now
Communicate a value proposition
Slim Down
A/B Test 再看一下
Strengths & Weaknesses
Strengths
Increase brand awareness
High-targeted
Re-targeting
Low costs
Weaknesses
" Banner Blindness"
Reactive
Declining response rates
Ad blockers
Less predictable
Auction system
How do Search Engines Work
3 Tasks
Crawling
Indexing
Ranking
What is Search Engine Marketing
Google Adwords Account Structure
一個account 可以有很多campaigns
每個Campaign 有一個ad group
每個Group 有很多keyword
最後跑出一個Ad
Campaign Types
4 types
Bid Strategy
Manual Bids
You can put bid for each single keyword
Full control over max CPC bid for each individual keyword
Strengths
Micro-targeting
Keyword, location, intertes
Weakness
How do I use Paid Search?
4 Types
Organic Search
Search Engine Optimization
Paid Search
Pay-per-click (PPC)
Search Engine Marketing
Keywords
Search terms, words, phrases that are selected by users when making search
Term that are bid on PPC system
The SEM auction
Ad Rank
Bid for each keyword
Quality score
Ad relevance
Expected click-through rate
Landing page experience
The Paid Search Process
Research
Who is your target market?
What do they search for along the customer journey?
Which keywords are the most improtant and value-for- money?
Competitive Research
SEMRush.com
SpyFu.com
Wordstream
• Google Keyword Planner
Build
Relavance
Traffic
International Marketing Business School 比 Uk university specialising in international Marketing
Fat Head
Keywords with very high search volume
Long Tail
Keywords with low search volume
Competition
Keword Match Types
Individual reports 放更加match的
放Broad Match
To control who sees your ads and manage your budget more effectively
Conctrol how closely customers' search matches your chosen keyword before it shows up
Use Broad Match could increase the volume 放在individual report
(real word also works)
Exact Match
Negative Match