Diet and good health Religious beliefs (CHRISTIANS , BUDDHISTS, Buddhists…
Diet and good health
Many Buddhists are vegetarians, as the religion preaches against killing
Buddhists believe they should not be responsible for the death of any other living organism.
Therefore, most Buddhists follow a strict vegetarian, if not vegan diet.
Chinese Buddhists also avoid garlic and onions as they believe it makes meditation more difficult.
All Buddhists avoid the consumption of alcohol
The cow is a sacred animal, and cannot be eaten.
Strict Hindus are vegetarians
They do not eat beef or any beef products and all flesh except lamb, chicken and fish is prohibited
Milk is permitted as no animal is killed during the collection
Some devout Hindus observe fasting on special occasion as a mark of respect to personal Gods or as part of their penance
Animal products such as fat, eggs, dairy and broth are permissible, as it fish
Meat is not allowed on Ash Wednesday, Good Friday and all Fridays in Lent - and, for many Catholics, on any Friday
Fasts from solid food on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are required of strict Catholics between the ages of 18 and 59
They do not have any restrictions, but some denominations only eat fish on Fridays
Jewish food must be kosher, meaning slaughtered according to strict Jewish laws.
Kosher animals have a completely split hoof and chew cud e.g. cows, goats and sheep
Horses and pigs are not kosher animals
Meat must not be cooked or eaten with dairy products because Jews do not eat mother and child together - so chicken and egg together or milk and beef together are not allowed
Pork, birds of prey, eels, fish without scales are forbidden
Cheese must be made with vegetable rennet and meat must not be cooked with butter
Separate cooking utensils and storage must be used for meat and dairy products